Home

Image

Sorry for the pretty gross picture, I wasn’t exactly over the moon when I found this in my mug either, but hey ho! I’ve put together a funny little list of things which I imagine all students must have experienced or at least be aware of when they are at uni, which in the realy world would seem unacceptable, disgusting or outrageous:

1. Mould

Unavoidable. You will see it, you will hate it and it could quite possibly cause arguments. Scratching it off of food does not make it good as new either.

2. Sick

Yours, your friends, that guy that’s been lurking near you all night but none of you know who he is. It could be on you, near you, in the club toilets, in your shared toilets if you’re not lucky enough to have en suite, like myself. A guy from the floor below us left us a little gift in the girls shared bathroom during freshers week – needless to say no one likes him anymore.

3. A ridiculous drunk story.

Again it may be yours or an infamous one about someone you all know at uni. We had ‘poo boy’ – I won’t go into the details because it really is gross, but let’s just say no one wants to walk on the carpet in his room anymore…

4. Money problems.

Your card may be declined, you may have to go into your overdraft or perhaps to the bank of mum and dad (that’s if they let you). Even if you don’t run out completely everyone finds themselves havign to rethink whether a tasty pack of donuts is actually worth it – or whether they might need to save that £1.50 for some real food.

5. Late night work.

I’ve said this to many 2nd/3rd year/graduate friends who mostly seem to think that during first year you shouldn’t experience this, but I’ve been there. In the library til close then continuing until 2am to get an essay done. And I’m not someone that most people would call a slacker, but there you go, uni – it changes you.

6. Fines.

Library fines, car park fines, overdraft fines. I’d say the first one is the biggest problem but I’ve seen hungover students park on double yellows not buy a ticket just because they’re in a desperate search for a bottle of water for some rehydration. Overdraft fines – again this should be for those of you who didn’t think student banking through before you got there, luckily I made sure I had an interest-free overdraft up to £1000 so I’m safe…for now anyway.

7. Unread books.

You took the book out with the best intentions. Perhaps it was just some extra revision you wanted to do to get ahead, or maybe it was a core book on your reading list. Either way – you took it out and either its due date came up or the essay deadline came and went, and you never even looked past the cover. Ahhh well.

8. Clubs.

I can’t imagine anyone who didn’t sign up for something at freshers’ fair. I still get emails from bridge club, krav maga (what even is that?!) and the debating society. I never intended to join, which is pretty bad on my behalf, but when signing up held the prospect of a few free sweets – I caved in.

There’s probably loads more but I’m aware that a blog post is not like an essay – which is a shame, if only actual essays were this easy and quick to right. Maybe one day….

SR.

8 thoughts on “Every student will experience….

    • Hey Us Virgin Islands Vactions All Inclusive,
      Thank you so much for your comment; your feedback means a lot! Be sure to read any of my other posts or follow me on twitter: student_ram if you want to get similar things to this. But thanks again for commending my blog, it’s much appreciated!
      SR.

  1. Hey Us Virgin Islands Vactions All Inclusive,

    Thank you so much for your comment; your feedback means a lot! Be sure to read any of my other posts or follow me on twitter: student_ram if you want to get similar things to this. But thanks again for commending my blog, it’s much appreciated!

    SR.

  2. Terrific post however I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on
    this topic? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Appreciate it!

    • Hi Rafaela, I’m so sorry I never replied to this post – I must have read it whilst I was out and completely forgot to reply. Would you like me to elaborate on the things I’ve already mentionned or would you like me to write a few more points? Let me know, and thank you again for the feedback!

  3. Great post. I won’t share it on my website only because it might scare the mums of potential students to be! I was at Uni in the early 80s & we had a character identical to your number 3. Nothing changes! Keep writing & I’ll share what’s appropriate for my audience!

    • It’s always the same! Thank you – check out some of my other posts, they’re not quite as realistic as this one (a bit more objective) – they might be useful for your site 🙂 thanks for looking anyway!

Leave a Reply

